WHY HULK GO TO MOVIES

December 14, 2011

MOVIE THEATERS MAKE MOVIES BETTER IN ALMOST EVERY WAY.

SOMETIMES THAT MEANS DEALING WITH ANNOYANCE.

MORE IMPORTANTLY, THE ANNOYING PEOPLE ARE PART OF IT.

AND THE IMPLICATIONS OF NON-PARTICPATION MAY BE EVEN WORSE…

CHECK OUT HULKS THOUGHTS HERE:

http://badassdigest.com/2011/12/13/film-crit-hulk-smash-why-hulk-go-to-movies/

16 Responses to “WHY HULK GO TO MOVIES”

  1. Sunflower said

    Hi, Hulk. I enjoyed this article and I think it made some good points, but I don’t agree with you on some others.

    First of all, if someone is annoyed, it is a valid feeling. You can’t tell people not to be annoyed by something– if someone is, that’s just the reality, and not something they can or should try to change. Shaming them or telling them they should sublimate it is just putting a “should” on their behavior which is not helpful. People can be annoyed and they can then make a choice as to whether that annoyance is enough to keep them from a potentially great experience or not, and both choices are valid. Staying at home doesn’t make one an asshole or an unthinking privileged dick necessarily. Being annoyed by noise is a valid and common reaction, and in fact research shows that loud or persistent noises have a physical effect on our bodies whether we notice them or not.

    Choosing, and enjoying peace and quiet is just as valid a choice as any, and one that people can and should stand up for. I admire people telling others to be quiet or to ask for the space to enjoy the movie, but not everyone is able to do that for many reasons.

    The whole masturbation story disturbed me, because as a woman, seeing a man do that does not improve the movie at all, and not everyone can just laugh it off. That is a privileged point of view. I would not feel safe staying at the movie or even telling him to put it back in his pants, and I don’t feel other people would necessarily back me up if I told someone.

    I love being in a theater with people who are excited by the movie, but that happens about as often as I am in a theater with people who are kicking my chair or making their loud chewing sounds in the middle of an important scene. It’s a 50-50 chance I’ll waste my time and money. For me, it’s not worth it. For you, it is. But I don’t think that makes me an asshole, either, no more than it makes you a better person or someone who gets more out of life for not being bothered by the same things.

    I have a memorable movie story that always makes me laugh. During Iron Man, some awful man behind me kept slurping his drink, shaking the ice in the glass constantly, and going “MMMM!mmmMMMM!” the whole time. After about half hour of this going on continuously, I snapped, turned around, and hissed at him “WILL YOU STOP!”. He did get quiet after that but about 3 of the 4 men I was with looked at me like I was scary or unstable, and so did he when the movie ended. It was funny simply because he looked so shocked and offended, and that contrasted nicely to the ManFantasy going on in the film. However, it did make me miss a lot of what went on and made the movie experience much less fun as a whole. It was very immersion-breaking, although I wouldn’t have minded people talking about the movie, cheering, kids reacting, etc, because those things do add to the experience for me.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      HEY THERE!

      GREAT COMMENT. HULK SHOULD TRY CLARIFY SOMETHING HULK THINK. HULK MEANT NOT TO IMPLY THAT ANNOYANCE NOT A VALID REACTION, BUT THAT ANNOYANCE SHOULD OVERRULE ONES EMOTION IN OTHER ASPECTS OF CINEMA-GOING. TO BE FAIR HULK TEND TO HAVE A PRETTY ZEN APPROACH TO MOST THINGS SO WHO KNOWS. HULK JUST THINK PEOPLE HUGELY, HUGELY UNDERESTIMATE THE CROWD EFFECT WHEN A MOVIE WORKING.

      RE: MASTURBATION STORY. THAT REACTION WHOLLY VALID AND HULK WOULD NEVER DARE TO IMPLY IT NOT, NOR HULKS REACTION BEING “CORRECT” WAY TO ROLL WITH PUNCHES. PERHAPS SOME CONTEXT HELP. WE COULDN’T ACTUALLY SEE ANY MANY ACTION AND HE ABOUT 5 ROWS BACK (THERE LIKE 12 PEOPLE IN THEATER TOTAL) AND JUST SEE HIS ARM MOVE AND HEAR THE SEAT GOING. AND ONE REASON HULK DIDN’T CONSIDER THE FEMALE POSITION BECAUSE HULK WAS WITH GROUP OF GIRLS AND WE ALL COULDN’T HELP LAUGHING AND SHAKING HEAD. MOSTLY BECAUSE OF THE MOVIE CHOICE. BUT AGAIN, HULK WAS ASSUMING THAT DIRECT SITUATION PERHAPS APPLIED MORE BROADLY THAN PERCEPTION. BUT EVEN HULK WOULD HAVE PERHAPS FELT DIFFERENT IF HULK WAS ALONE.

      HULK THANK.

  2. Sunflower said

    Thanks, Hulk, for your reply! I love that I can disagree and you respond so thoughtfully.

    I understand better what you mean now about the annoyance thing. I’m coming from a place where a lot of people have told me “Don’t let that annoy you” and “You’re too fussy” and things like that, and it took some time to work through the feelings that there’s something wrong with me for having issues with people crunching food, etc. I don’t actually think there’s anything wrong with people doing that either. I don’t think it’s clear cut although I get why some people think making noise, texting, etc, is rude. I can understand why some people would text through a movie, because I’ve been there. I went to see the last Twilight movie with some friends because it’s a tradition to see it and laugh together at it, and they sat on the other side of the aisle. At one point I got a text from one of them and I knew it was going to be a joke about the movie so I looked at it and shared it with the person on my right. Now, just a few movies back, I was annoyed by some teens doing the same thing during Slumdog Millionaire. But there’s not necessarily a moral wrong and the annoyance is valid, just as is the annoyance of anyone who might have seen my phone light up and was genuinely trying to watch Twilight and taking it seriously.

    As for the masturbation thing, I was imagining myself as being there alone, or with people I don’t feel close to. If I were there with a group of people I really like, I too might think it’s hilariously awful and we might jeer at the person or whatever. I don’t know. It depends on the circumstances, I think. It’s the same as everything– we all have different perspectives. It’s only in a cooperative setting that we can explore those perspectives and agree on what’s a good solution for everyone–something we can’t really do in a theater during a movie. One of the problems is that we are really relying on society’s “shoulds” to solve the issue of theater behavior, and lots of people rebel against shoulds as a matter of course, or are oblivious to them in the first place. A cooperative approach would let people all opt in with full understanding. I don’t know how that could be done, though.

  3. I grew up in an “urban market.” And if I may indulge a bit of positive racism or whatever it is? Watching movies with an, ahem, urban market is an absolute delight. And I know this confirms the stereotype in even more, but horror movies especially are a blast with the urban market. When I saw BLACK SWAN, one girl commented “I’m gonna have nightmares about this” in a completely genial way after the legs-break-backward scene, and it defused the tension and allowed us some relief in a beautifully communal way. I was laughing my ass off through DRAG ME TO HELL, which played greatly with everyone genuinely scared during Raimi’s winky-wink moments. It’s not really a race thing so much as it is differing expectations of people in that economic bracket (the white people act basically the same way in the theater), and it’s harmless. I can’t understand anyone avoiding a film because they would have to see it with that demographic. Then again, I grew up with it, so maybe I’m just inoculated.

    • Sunflower said

      The things you’re describing sound incredibly fun. Everyone seemed so involved in the movie that they just talk out loud or react in other ways. I used to love watching movies with my grandmother for just that reason– I had to translate them into our native language for her and she would just marvel at the plot, add her own commentary, and be a genuine delight. I was hoping to watch the last Harry Potter movies in the theater, in 3-d just to be part of that experience. So I totally understand the joy of it, too.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      POSITIVE RACISM INDEED! HULK ARGUE YOU PHRASED IT CORRECTLY BY SAYING “I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO CALL THIS. THAT ALWAYS A GREAT THING TO DO BTW.

      ANYWHO, YOUR COMMENT SPOT ON IN REGARDS TO JUST TALKING ABOUT THE EXPERIENCE. HELLBOY WAS ONE OF THE GREAT MOVIE WATCHING EXPERIENCES FOR HULK.

  4. Charming Charlie said

    I noticed a delay of roughly 24 hours before the post here and the one on badassdigest. Is that part of your arrangement, or just a coincidence?

  5. VyceVictus said

    Hey Hulk, wou mentioned this way back but I wasn’t sure if anything changed: Are you’re gonna be ‘maining’ Badass with all your articles for the forseeable future, or do you plan on posting here again soon? Let us know whats up. Peace.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      HULK NOT SURE. HULK STILL HAVE THAT DAMN MAILBAG COLUMN HALF WRITTEN. TRUTH IS HULK JUST NOT SURE HOW MUCH HULK CAN WRITE FOR BADASS IN TERMS OF GOING OVERBOARD IF THAT MAKE SENSE SO THERE THE OTHER OUTLET HERE. IT NOT HULKS SITE.

      ALSO, ALSO. THIS THE BEST PLACE TO BE SURE HULK SEES ALL COMMENTS BECAUSE HULK GETS THEM EMAILED TO HULK.

  6. Country_Bumpkin said

    I agree with you about the benefits of seeing movies in the theater in many cases, though not all. Comedies and horror films particularly seem to benefit from the amplification of feelings a group gives you.

    But I do like watching movies at home sometimes specifically because I can rewind to re-watch something, pause a scene to think about it, or look some random fact up. Do you think there are ever situations where a home theater is a better setting for a film viewing?

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      ONLY RE-WATCHING. THEN IT TOTALLY COOL.

      IT REALLY IS OKAY TO MISS SOMETHING FIRST WATCH THROUGH. THE IDEA THAT YOU CANNOT TEAR YOUR EYEBALLS AWAY IS ONE OF THE KEYS TO BEING ENRAPTURED BY A MOVIE.

      THERE ALWAYS TIME TO FIGURE IT OUT AND DIG IN LATER.

  7. Daybreaker said

    The campfire experience only works with your own tribe, or at least a friendly tribe, one you feel safe with and that observes the same customs and taboos as you. If it’s the campfire of an unfriendly tribe you’ve got to be an idiot to be there, and twice the fool to pay for the experience.

    As an example of divergent customs and taboos: going to The Passion of the Christ with believers, and having two other members of the audience laughing and cheering loudly for the Romans doing the flogging, and some more with them apparently of a similar mind but at least quieter about it. Film critics who were venomously hateful said that the Passion movie was nothing but a perverted orgy of bloodshed and cruelty, and I’m guessing these guys believed the critics and came for that. Eventually they were persuaded to quiet down, but not before destroying the experience, which for the main audience for that film (not regular theater-goers, for good reason), was not supposed to be “a movie-going experience”.

    The right solution is to kick out the wrong kind of theater-goers, permanently and if need be preemptively. Of course that solution may not be legally, socially or politically correctly possible. Especially not on behalf of people who are not regular theater-goers, for good reason.

    I like going to the movies every week, if I can. But if experiences like that weren’t very rare where I live, or if they were as offensive to me as that cheering was to the people I saw The Passion of the Christ with, I wouldn’t.

    For a lot of people, a potential audience that will never become an actual audience, home viewing is a much better option, if movies are to be seen at all. Home viewing, unlike a movie theater, really is like gathering about a friendly fireplace.

  8. Daybreaker said

    Merry Christmas!

  9. M. Miles said

    My opinions on your article, for what they are worth:

    - The “campfire” experience works best if you’re on the same wavelength as your audience, and I suspect on culture as well. Not every cinema and every place has the crowd reacting strongly to a movie.

    - People experience movies in different ways. When I concentrate on a movie I ignore everything else, for better or for worse. I don’t really notice the crowd’s reaction anymore than I notice someone texting or eating loudly. It takes something pretty big to break my concentration.

    - Can’t you watch a movie at home with family or friends? Wouldn’t that also be a communal experience?

    - And by the way, not every city has their New Beverly, trust me. You may be used to great cinema experiences because of your background but that may not be the norm in other countries, especially 3rd world ones.

    Just a few points. Still respect your opinion, and it made me think about these communal experiences in a different light. Thank you for writing the article.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      ALL TOTALLY VALID. ULTIMATELY, HULK FELT LIKE THE WHOLE ARTICLE TAKING ON A VERY SPECIFIC KIND OF AUDIENCE MEMBER WHO DECIDED “I DON’T LIKE DEALING WITH OTHER PEOPLE, I’M GOING TO SIT AT HOME” AND HULK WANTED ENTERTAIN THE OTHER END OF THE SPECTRUM, IE THE BEST OF WHAT THE THEATER-GOING EXPERIENCE CAN BE. HULK THANK KINDLY FOR GREAT COMMENT.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers

