HULK VS. THE GENUIS OF MULHOLLAND DRIVE

March 5, 2012

AND HERE IT IS…HULK’S 100TH POST!

HULK WANT TO THANK YOU ALL FOR BEING SUCH AMAZING READERSHIP WHO MAKE EVERY SINGLE ARTICLE WORTH IT. REALLY, YA’LL THE BEST AND HULK COMPLETELY INDEBTED TO YOU.

AND HULK CAN THINK OF NO BETTER WAY TO CELEBRATE THAN WITH A MASSIVE INTERPRETATION OF ONE OF HULK’S FAVORITE MOVIES: MULHOLLAND DRIVE!

http://badassdigest.com/2012/03/04/film-crit-hulk-smash-hulk-vs-the-genius-of-mulholland-drive/

6 Responses to “HULK VS. THE GENUIS OF MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

  1. Awkward Beard Man said

    Excellent article hulk! Even though much of your explanation isn’t new to me both through my own analysis and other interpretations I’ve read, what it really did was remind me just how much I love Mulholland Drive. So thank you! :D

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      AND THAT THE BEST PART! IT REALLY JUST A BEAUTIFUL, ENJOYABLE, UNNERVING, GREAT MOVIE! (UNDERNEATH ALL THE HEADY STUFF)

      • Awkward Beard Man said

        Exactly! And I have to agree with you that the first encounter with the homeless man and the audition scene are some of the greatest moments I’ve ever seen in film.

        Lynch is really great at creating those smaller scenes that really stand on their own, but also feed directly into the larger context of the film.

  2. M. Miles said

    Nice article. I think of the “weird David Lynch” movies, I like Mulholland Drive best. It’s weird and sometimes hard to get, sure, but it’s also very powerful and interesting, even if you don’t get the whole plot at once.
    When I first watched it I could get some of the themes and enjoy the movie even without realizing that the first part of the movie was a dream or that many of the side stories related to Diane’s guilt or feeling of betrayal.
    Point is, even if you’re not good at analyzing movies or piecing everything together, Mulholland Drive works. And I think that’s where Inland Empire is different. If you don’t understand the plot, Inland Empire has a lot of uninteresting scenes and some people are bound to get furious. All said, I don’t think Inland Empire is as good as Mulholland Drive, although it still has some good scenes.

    Oh, and I think you did a typo on the title of this article. It’s “genius”, not “genuis”.

  3. biko said

    I’d like to point out that the ”homele
    ss man“ is actually a woman. THe homeless persons possession of the box, at the end of the movie, leads me to believe that this is Naomi Watts’ character–whi else would have the box?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 825 other followers

