HULK DOES IN-DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH THE VERGE!

November 8, 2012

HEY EVERYONE! HULK HERE!

HULK JUST GOT TO DO A MEGA-HULK-SIZED INTERVIEW WITH THE VERGE WHICH WAS A REAL HONOR. DON’T WORRY, THE FIRST FEW ANSWERS ANSWERS ARE THE LONGEST, BUT THEY HAD TO RUMINATE ON WHY HULK DO WHAT HULK DO AND THUS “EXPLAINING THE JOKE.” BUT THERE’S TONS OF GREAT STUFF FROM COMMENTER INTERACTION, TO BEST MOVIE THEATERS IN THE WORLD, TO SUPERHEROES, TO UNHERALDED DIRECTORS, TO 48 FPS, TO THE UN-NAIVE NATURE OF OPTIMISM.

HULK SINCERELY HOPE YOU ENJOY!

READ IT HERE!

<3 HULK

18 Responses to “HULK DOES IN-DEPTH INTERVIEW WITH THE VERGE!”

  1. Excellent interview. I’ve been giving serious thought to taking my dissertation and building a blog around it. I write all the time, but I feel like since I’m no longer pursuing academia as a career, I have no focus or goals.

    “it’s usually after the film has been out for a bit so there can be a real conversation”

    This might get be what actually gets me moving. With the writing I do now, I feel like I have to be up on certain trends. And I don’t love that sort of writing, but I am interested in what various trends might tell us about society and culture at any given time and so I usually want to talk about them after they’ve passed.

    • Robert Crandall said

      Couldn’t hurt to try. Having a space to organize your writing and receive feedback would probably be a positive experience overall.

  2. Robert Crandall said

    Awesome interview! I find it amazing that you have time to write at the volume (hah) and level you do and work on other projects AND read comments AND respond to them AND twitter/email/etc. You’re a machine, Hulk. Considering all of that, your grateful and humble attitude is incredibly refreshing. And appreciated.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      SINCEREST THANKS! AND TRUTH BE TOLD HULK DOESN’T SLEEP MUCH. BUT EVERYONE’S KINDNESS MEANS THE WORLD AND HULK JUST TRIES TO SHOW RIGHT BACK. FILM AND OUR LOVE OF FILM SHOULD BE A JOY OF MUTUAL DISCOVERY. NOT A FIGHT.

  3. benarfmannBen said

    Wonderful interview! Thanks for being so open about “explaining the joke.” It reminded me of when Pauline Kael would discuss the source of her own written voice – the amount of time and effort that she invested in crafting and controlling it. Your willingness to be so open about your process is one of the reasons I appreciate your writing so much. Thank you.

  4. Cameron said

    Just once, I’d love to read something you wrote that’s sub-standard. Just to show me that you’re capable of it. Show the rest of us that you’re only hu….

    Oh.

    Nevermind.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      HULK LAUGH :)

      • Timmy said

        Hey man,

        I’ve been reading all your articles here. And I absolutely love how you hit the nail right on the head with all kinds of subjects (Well at least I agree with your opinions and analysis on pretty much everything). You’re a very intelligent guy, much smarter than I am. And I dunno if we can do requests here, but I’ll give it a shot.

        Can you do an analysis of the Spider-Man reboot that came out this year? I liked it, but at the same time felt a little underwhelmed. I have tried to break down and understand that feeling but never really get to that ‘EUREKA’ moment, where it all comes together. And Eureka moments is something that I’ve seen that you’re very good at.

        To give some context, I am not just a Spider-Man nerd, but understanding these sorts of things is also a part of my job requirements (can’t go too much into it for the sake of protecting identity).

      • FILMCRITHULK said

        HEY THERE TIMMY! HULK DID ONE BETTER AND WENT BACK IN TIME TO WRITE AN ARTICLE FOR YA :) http://badassdigest.com/2012/07/06/film-crit-hulk-smash-the-amazing-spider-man-has-99-problems-but-an-uncle-be/ HULK WAS A BIT MORE SMASHY THEN YOU PERHAPS, BUT IT MAY AT LEAST ARTICULATE WHY YOU WERE UNDERWHELMED! CHEERS AND THANKS!
        <3 HULK

      • Timmy said

        Thanks, Hulk :)

      • Timmy said

        Just got done reading it. I felt there was something wrong with it, but could never clarify it to myself. Thanks for pointing out the problems. I can finally breathe a sigh of relief.

      • FILMCRITHULK said

        THERE’S GOOD STUFF THERE TOO, BUT THE BIGGER PROPLEM FOR HULK IS THE STEALTH DYSFUNCTIONALITY!

  5. Niels said

    Dear FILMCRITHULK,

    As a fan of Kubrick and curious to know what others made of the The Shining ending, I googled around. Then I discovered Kubrick’s Odyssey by Jay Weidner (http://vimeo.com/34039692). I am rather skeptical regarding conspiracy theories but this one caught me off guard and I do not know what to make of it.

    Since I know you are also a fan of Kubrick, and a tad more erudite on the subject, I am eager to learn what you think of it?

    All the best and keep up the BIG work,
    Niels.

  6. Niels said

    Ok, so the DVD has yet to be released. But the reviews gave me the impression that The Shining is like a Rorschach test where people can see their own ideas reflected, is that what you think?

  7. Victor Vacendak said

    Hey Film Crit Hulk,

    You are my new favorite thing in a long time. As a frustrated writer working on the 10th draft of a script that could benefit form a 5-act structure; and having passed through stages of hope, learning, inspiration and defeat; and wondering if all of this was worth; and all this while fending off the cynicism and misogyny of a co-writer who thinks nothing has been good since 1982 and hates our female characters; I found your wisdom, positive vibes and love of movies and humanity to be an oasis.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 776 other followers

