SHOULD YOU GO TO FILM SCHOOL?

April 19, 2013

filmschoolfeat__span.jpg__span

HULK’S BEEN MEANING TO WRITE THIS COLUMN FOR A LONG, LONG TIME.

HULK ASKS THAT ALL IMPORTANT QUESTIONS, “SHOULD YOU GO TO FILM SCHOOL?”

http://badassdigest.com/2013/04/18/should-you-go-to-film-school/

11 Responses to “SHOULD YOU GO TO FILM SCHOOL?”

  1. That was really interesting.

    As someone who is too old and broke to go to uni (again!) but is looking to make contacts/network, I would be interested to hear your thoughts at some point regarding the value (or otherwise) of “intensive” 2-3 day courses in filmmaking or screenwriting.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      THEY CAN BE GOOD IN THE SENSE THAT THEY GIVE YOU A LOT OF PRACTICAL INFORMATION UP FRONT, BUT ARE LESS PRODUCTIVE IN THE “FILMMAKING TAKES TIME AND CONSIDERATION” DEPARTMENT. SOMETIMES EVEN A SEMESTER FEELS SHORT TO DO IT PROPERLY. BUT HULK FINDS THAT INFORMATION CLICKS FROM THOSE KINDS OF THINGS BETTER THAN IT DOES FROM SIMPLY READING A BOOK.

      DOES THAT MAKE SENSE?

  2. Aris K. said

    Interesting piece. The discussion on the economics of higher education was…stark. But very clear.

    Your Hulkness, you’ll forgive me for slightly derailing the subject, but: while re-watching “Drive” last night I remembered a short, off-hand remark you’d made about Hendricks “not being miscast”- while discussing “A Dengrous Method”, if memory serves. Looking through older postings didn’t reveal any further discussion of that point. Would you mind getting dragged back to it? (for the record, I don’t think she *was* miscast, but your comment suggests at least the existence of a theory for Refn’s choice, and that sounds interesting!)
    Thank you, and keep on hulkin’.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      SHORT VERSION: THE WHOLE THING IS PLAYING OFF THE FACT THAT WE THINK OF HER ONE WAY AND YET HER BEHAVIOR SUGGESTED SOMETHING ELSE. IF THEY HAD CAST “THAT TYPE.” THEN HER TURNING ON GOSLING / EVENTUAL DEATH WOULD HAVE BEEN “OBVIOUS” AND LESS IMPACTFUL. IT’S SUPPOSED TO MAKE US FEEL LIKE SHE’S A ROUNDED HUMAN + CONFLICTED BY HOW HE GETS VIOLENT WITH HER + CONFLICTED WHEN SHE DIES. THE ALTERNATIVE OF NOT “MISCASTING” GIVES US A LESS NUANCED RESULT.

      DOES THAT MAKE SENSE?

      AND SINCERE THANKS FOR THE KIND WORDS! CHEERS!

      • Aris K. said

        Aha! I see what you’re saying. My shallow take on it was that he simply wanted someone completely un-CarreyMulligan-like. Thanks!

  3. Richard said

    Dude… not cool about the generalization about teachers being great, helpful saints and students being “little shits”. I had a racist teacher in highschool with a history of harassment cases against her. She harassed me about my race, and tried to get me kicked out of school in extremely un-subtle ways. The whole situation got really, really bad.

    My parents had to fight back for me. And them fighting back was the only reason I managed to make my way through highschool, and am doing really well in college right now.

    The whole thing was f-ing traumatizing and I lost my enthusiasm for education at one point of time.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      HEY THERE RICHARD.

      SINCERE APOLOGIES AS HULK DID NOT MEAN FOR THE GENERALIZATION TO COME ACROSS AS A UNIVERSAL APPLICATION. WHAT YOU DESCRIBE IS BOTH HORRIBLE AND PERTINENT REALITY WORTH ADDRESSING. THAT TEACHER SHOULD 100% BE FIRED. BUT WHAT HULK WAS TRYING TO DO WAS COMBAT THE LARGE-SCALE PUBLIC IMAGE PROBLEM OF ANTI-TEACHER SENTIMENT. I.E. THOSE WOULD WOULD PROJECT THE REALITY OF WHAT YOU ACTUALLY HAD TO EXPERIENCE IN CASES WHERE IT DOES NOT APPLY. DOES THAT MAKE SENSE? IF ANYTHING THE PROLIFERATION OF ANTI-TEACHER SENTIMENT UNDERMINES THE CRIPPLING REALITY OF WHAT YOU EXPERIENCED. HULK’S SURE THEY LUMPED YOUR COMPLAINTS IN WITH THAT SENTIMENT, WHEN WITHOUT IT, IT PERHAPS WOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN WITH APPROPRIATE AMOUNT OF SERIOUSNESS. DOES THAT ALSO MAKE SENSE? IT’S COMPLICATED ISSUE AND JUST KNOW THAT HULK WOULD NEVER, EVER WANT TO UNDERMINE WHAT YOU EXPERIENCED.

      CHEERS AND SINCEREST THANKS FOR SPEAKING UP.
      -HULK!

      • Richard said

        Alright, cool man. I hear what you’re saying.

        By the way, on a completely unrelated note. I’m not sure if you’re familiar with him, but what do you think about the comic book writer Grant Morrison?

        Do you think he’s actually clever, or just terribly pretentious? Or maybe a bit of both?

  4. Richard said

    Dude… not cool about the generalization about teachers being great, helpful saints and students being “little sh–s”. I had a racist teacher in highschool with a history of harassment cases against her. She harassed me about my race, and tried to get me kicked out of school in extremely un-subtle ways. The whole situation got really, really bad.

    My parents had to fight back for me. And them fighting back was the only reason I managed to make my way through highschool, and am doing really well in college right now.

    The whole thing was f-ing traumatizing and I lost my enthusiasm for education at one point of time.

  5. Bruce, can I call you Bruce? Bruce, go to film school. I guarantee you will meet amazing people that you will be friends with for years to come and you will come to appreciate how a film is made and what actually goes into making one, although I didn’t graduate (was never a “skool” kinda guy) I still, to this day, value everything I have learned :D and why does everyone who commented on here have a weird profile picture……….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 815 other followers

