SCREENWRITING 101

January 12, 2012

 

SO HULK DID A LITTLE INTERNET EXPERIMENT AND WROTE A MINI-BOOK ON SCREENWRITING.

HULK’S ONLY HOPE WITH IT IS THAT YOU FIND IT HELPFUL.

HULK SINCERELY THANK.

THE ARTICLE SO BIG IT IN TWO VOLUMES!

http://badassdigest.com/2012/01/12/screenwriting-101-1-of-2/

http://badassdigest.com/2012/01/12/screenwriting-101-2-of-2/

❤ HULK

20 Responses to “SCREENWRITING 101”

  1. I use to spend time on terry rossio’s site years ago before he hit the big time, though he was already a highly rated screenwriter.
    Back then I was amazed at the generosity displayed in what he offered, for no recompense.
    It’s almost a religious experience finding a situation like that.
    Giving something for nothing is still a big deal human thing.
    It begins all sorts of other things, and of course the giver always, always gets something back.
    In this area of business it’s amazing that successful capable people (in your case an extremely capable person,) give of their time and emotional energy. I’m not sure I would be so forthcoming.
    So here is my small giving of something back mate. Give yourself a more than a few number of pats on the back. ( He stands, clapping.)

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      HULK LOVE ROSSIO’S SENSE OF GENEROSITY AS WELL. HULK REALLY DOES. PART OF THE PROBLEM IS THAT IT JUST REALLY HARD FOR HULK TO ADVOCATE THE VAST MAJORITY OF HIS WORK. IT JUST IS. BUT THIS NOT TO SPEAK ILL OF ANY OF HIS ADVICE OR THE LIKE. CERTAINLY NOT AT ALL. AND HULK KNOW HOW MUCH THINGS CAN GET DILUTED ONCE OUT OF YOUR HANDS (ESPECIALLY WORKING AT THAT KIND OF LEVEL). HULK JUST SORT OF NOTHING THAT’S ALL.

      BUT HULK HAVE TO THANK YOU TOO FOR ALL YOUR KIND WORDS. EVERYONE BEEN SO NICE AND HULK ALMOST NOT KNOW WHAT TO SAY. THANK YOU AGAIN.

  2. Charming Charlie said

    Oh man, I’m excited. Particularly about this:
    “AT THIS POINT, HULK WOULD BE REMISS IF HULK DID NOT MENTION THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION: THE FOLLOWING COLUMN IS, IN ALL SERIOUSNESS, THE LENGTH OF A BOOK. ALL THIS MEANS IS THAT YOU CAN FEEL FREE APPROACH THIS COLUMN ANY WAY YOU SEE FIT. HULK DID NOT WANT TO BREAK IT UP INTO SEVERAL COLUMNS OVER THE COURSE OF DAYS, BECAUSE HULK FELT LIKE IT WAS STILL ONE SINGULAR IDEA. AND WHILE YOU MAY NOT BE ABLE TO BE READ IN ONE SITTING, HULK TRIED TO MAKE THE STRUCTURE AS DIGESTIBLE AND EASY TO NAVIGATE AS POSSIBLE (MOST OF THE SUBJECTS ARE LISTED BY POINT NUMBER). WHATEVER SHORT COMINGS THIS APPROACH HAS IN TERMS OF PONTIFICATION, THE PIECE WILL CERTAINLY NOT HAVE OTHERS FROM A LACK OF EFFORT.”

    The following will sound sarcastic, but I’m being sincere. I love that you’re 1)not doing what makes sense in terms of page views and ad click-through website monetization, 2)not making format concessions for people with kid-sized attention spans, and 3)are relying on the readers to come meet you part way which allows them to use their hulk-sized brains. If it’s important to make a good first impression, this paragraph’s forewarning is like showing up to class in a three piece suit–which obviously means I’ve been reading long enough to forget you write in all caps.

    Even if the rest of the article sucks, I love this part enough to warrant approbation.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      THAT MEAN A GREAT DEAL. HULK THANK KINDLY FOR SAYING SO, AND HULK HOPE YOU DID GO ON TO ENJOY IT. HULK THANK AGAIN!

  3. Alex said

    This screenwriting 101 bookarticleanalysisessay thingie soldilified for me the essentials of screenwriting,while clearly and concisely evaluating (with +1 humorous interjections and asides !) other structures and methods.

    You are fast becoming my favourite media critic ever and I cannot emphasise how crucial,and great your writing is.

    Keep it up – and your Banner mode is also a pretty cool dude.
    🙂

  4. M. Miles said

    Wow.
    I read the two parts of your article/book and, well… It’s all so humbling. “The world is so big and I’m so small.”
    But I also feel that realizing my ignorance, how much I DON’T know, is good. It’s a first step to learning more. Gets me excited, even as I am scared too. I don’t know if I will ever be able to, but I sure want to try.
    So, thank you for opening my eyes, as you have done to countless others no doubt.

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      HULK THANK! THE FIRST STEPS ARE ALWAYS HUMBLING (WITH ANYTHING WE DO). WHICH MEANS YOU’RE IN THE PERFECT PLACE. HAVE CONFIDENCE. WORK HARD. HULK THANK AGAIN!

  5. […] recently (and this is technically in 2012, but whatever), Hulk published his opus, a giant, epic exploration of screenwriting that is better than most books I’ve read on the subject. If you have any interest in film or […]

  6. Todd said

    Since I read this, I see Harmon’s circles everywhere…

    • FILMCRITHULK said

      THAT BECAUSE THEY ARE EVERYWHERE!

      • Pascoe said

        Hey Hulk, in part 2 you say “JOSEPH CAMBPELL NEVER MEANT FOR THE HERO JOURNEY TO BE A STRUCTURAL WRITING GUIDE!”, but then Harmon is on record in a number of places talking about his Campbell obsession and how his own story circle is a diluted version of Campbell’s ideas. Here for example: http://channel101.wikia.com/wiki/Story_Structure_104:_The_Juicy_Details.

        So I was wondering how that fits with your argument that the Hero’s Journey is a useless model for screenwriting and has nothing to do with the success of films like Star Wars.

        Cheers!

      • FILMCRITHULK said

        IT’S A GREAT QUESTION (AND SOMETHING HULK ACTUALLY ADDRESSES AT LENGTH IN HULK’S NEW BOOK COMING OUT SOON!!!!), BUT BASICALLY HARMON ISN’T USING THE HEROES AS A STRUCTURAL MODEL HE’S USING IT AS A THEMATIC SIGNPOST. THE HEROES JOURNEY IDENTIFIES THE THINGS OF MEANING AND DEEP SYMBOLOGY AND IMPORTANCE TO THE NEEDS OF STORY. BUT IT DOESN’T REALLY HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH DRAMA. THAT’S WHY SO MANY MOVIES THAT BLINDLY APE THE HEROES JOURNEY ARE LIKE “AND THEN WE’LL FIGHT THIS THING! AND THEN WE’LL GO HOME!” ETC. BUT IF YOU LOOK AT HARMON’S MODEL, YOU’LL NOTICE THAT IT IS INCREDIBLY GROUNDED IN CHARACTER WANTS / NEEDS (THE STUFF HULK TALKS ABOUT IN CHARACTER TREES) AND EXPRESSES THEM THROUGH DRAMATIC CONFLICTS. IN FACT, EVERY “STEP” IS ABOUT A CHARACTER’S EMOTIONAL PROCESS, WHICH MAKES IT QUITE DIFFERENT.

        SO REALLY HARMON IS TAKING THE CORE OF THE HERO JOURNEY AND TURNING INTO SOMETHING SPECIFICALLY DESIGNED FOR DRAMATIC FUNCTION AND STORY STRUCTURE, NOT JUST THE THEMATIC IDEAS BEHIND THEM.

        DOES THAT MAKE SENSE?

  7. I’ve just finished reading the first half of the article (I’d been intimidated for a while because of the size) and it is some utterly fantastic stuff.

    Part Two, in particualr got me thinking of things I hadn’t before. Quite often my ideas run away from where I intended, I lose track of the idea I started with, and it’s a really good explanation of why my stories (scripts and prose) seem to get away from me.
    The idea of holding on to the central germ of what’s compelling seems so obvious when it’s explained like that…

    And Part Three Point Two, about being an expert, is something that I’d heard before, but it can feel so damn intimidating, the need to be a sort of expert to get ahead as a writer.
    The way you’ve explained it though, in such a positive and upbeat way, feels quite inspiring.
    By chance yesterday I was just watching an old Isaac Asimov interview, talking about the importance of learning, how great it is for it’s own sake, and that part of your article made a similar impact on me.

    There’s too much information for me to read the whole thing tonight, but I look forward to reading the second half!

  8. Will said

    Maybe just me but Part 1 seems to be down?

  9. eddypoon said

    still down. goes to a blank page

  10. Federico Garcia Lorca's Cock said

    Neither link works for me.

Leave a Reply

